Let us review your legal matter
443-557-4153
Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC

The consequences of a first-offense DUI or DWI in Maryland

Everyone can make mistakes from time to time. While it's easy to have a drink and mistakenly believe that you are within the legal driving limit, taking such a risk can be a mistake that poses a danger to yourself and the public.

This is why there are penalties for those who are found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .07% or higher. If you have been accused of driving under the influence in Maryland for the first time, you should take the time to understand the possible consequences.

What is the difference between a DUI and DWI in Maryland?

DWI refers to driving while impaired. This is a less serious charge than a DUI, which refers to driving under the influence. A driver in Maryland can be charged with a DWI when their BAC is between .07% and .08%. A driver in Maryland can be charged with a DUI when their BAC is over .08%.

What are the consequences of being charged with a DWI?

If you are charged with a DWI, and you have never before been subject to charges relating to driving under the influence, you could face up to two months in jail and a fine of up to $500.

What are the consequences of being charged with a DUI?

Being charged with a first offense DUI could result in up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

You should take swift action if you want to defend yourself after being accused of driving while intoxicated in Maryland.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Have Your Case Evaluated Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

email us for a response

Office Location

Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC
7310 Ritchie Highway
Suite 1001
Glen Burnie, Maryland 21061

Toll Free: 800-584-1215
Phone: 443-557-4153
Fax: 410-760-9434
Glen Burnie Law Office Map