Every state is different when it comes to the laws that are in place regarding divorce. It is, therefore, paramount that you fully understand the laws you are subject to in the state that you are getting divorced in. This can help you to plan ahead and see potential challenges before they arise.
In order to file for a divorce in Maryland, you must have resided in the state for at least one year. It is possible to file for a no-fault divorce under certain circumstances, meaning that you do not have to allege specific wrongdoing in order for your divorce petition to be valid.
What are the routes to filing for a no-fault divorce?
You need to show that you and your divorcing spouse have been either voluntarily separated for 1 year or involuntarily separated for 2 years in order to qualify for a no-fault divorce. This helps you avoid blaming or shaming in the divorce proceedings.
What are the other grounds for a divorce?
It’s also possible to file for divorce by blaming your spouse for the breakdown of your marriage. This could be beneficial to the outcome of the property division process since the courts may be more likely to rule in your favor. You may be able to cite cruelty, vicious conduct, a criminal offense or adultery as grounds for divorce.
If you are facing divorce in Maryland, you should focus on striving to achieve your desired outcome regarding property division and child custody arrangements. You will have the best chance of doing this by understanding the law and taking early action.